Cochise Hole #5

The 100th annual Southwestern Amateur, which helped launch the careers of many of today’s PGA champions, will be held June 8-12, 2015, at the Desert Mountain Club in Scottsdale, Arizona.


As the highest-ranked amateur golf tournament in the Southwest, the championship attracts the world’s best amateur golfers.


Desert Mountain is one of the world’s premier, private golf meccas offering six award-winning Jack Nicklaus Signature golf courses, more than any other private community in the world. Desert Mountain also features six clubhouses, a fitness center with world-class tennis complex and hiking trails.


Desert Mountain is also home to the $1.6 million Jim Flick Golf Performance Center equipped with the most advanced technology in the industry today, all in one place. Among the center’s capabilities are 3-D motion capture, Doppler radar and four-camera video motion analysis.


For information, visit More information on the tournament and the Cochise Course can be found on this website.


Kyle Jones of Taylor, Arizona, came from as many as four down with nine holes to play and emphatically eagled the 72nd hole to overtake fellow Arizonan Zachary Wright, our three day leader, to win the 99th Southwestern Amateur by two strokes. While evaluating their second shots in the 72nd hole fairway, Jones later confided, "Zach and I have played golf together since we were 10 or 11 and I knew he was a good iron player so I just wanted to get it close to put some pressure on him". That he did, sticking it to two feet. Jones, who will be a senior at Baylor in the fall and is ranked No. 38 on Golfweek's men's college individual rankings, closed with a 67 (-3) for a four day total of 268 (-12).


Wright, who will be a junior at LSU, closed with a 71 (+1) to finish runner-up at 270 (-10). Brigham Young University senior Justin Keiley of Provo, Utah, finished in third place at 273 (-7).


Four holes-in-one were recorded during the first two rounds, a tournament record. During the first round Jeremy Sanders of Chatsworth, California and Kyle Jones of Taylor, Arizona made their aces on 225 yard 17th hole while Jay Burlison on Salinas, California made his on the 140 yard 13th hole. A day later Zachary Wright of Phoenix, Arizona, aced the 189 yard 11th hole during his morning round.


The top twenty-five finishers are exempt into the Centennial Southwestern Amateur to be played again at the Desert Mountain Club, Inc.


Format for the tournament remains the same: 72-hole stroke play competition conducted over four consecutive days.  The field is reduced to the lowest 60 players and ties after 36 holes.  Each player is provided a practice round on the Tuesday of tournament week as part of their entry fee.


NEW! - For players who miss the 36 hole cut, Desert Mountain Club will grant playing access to two of its other courses on Friday and Saturday.



Past champions Jay Haas (1976) and Corey Pavin (1981) with SWGA President John Ranslem at the 2012 Charles Schwab Cup Championship at the Desert Mountain Club.


The Southwestern Amateur is the longest running regional amateur men's golf championship in the western United States. With origins dating back as early as 1908, the tournament was formally organized into a regional competition in 1915.  Since then the championship has grown to many more players and a stepping stone for many great future PGA Tour stars.  Read More